Sunday, 30 October 2011

Pakistan Win Fifth Hong Kong Sixes Title

Pakistan prevailed in the final over England to be crowned Hong Kong Sixes champions for a record-equalling fifth time on the final day in Kowloon. Sri Lanka and hosts Hong Kong were the losing semi-finalists.

10th Place Play-Off: Bangladesh 113-2 beat New Zealand 37 all out by 76 runs

The day began with a match between Hong Kong Women and China Women after which it was time for the 10th place play-off between Bangladesh and the under-performing New Zealand. Bangladesh piled up 113 after being asked to bat by the Kiwis with Rony Talakdar, Shabbir Rahman and Nazmul Hossain all passing 30 as Mumbai Indians bowler James Franklin leaked 30 runs off his single over. The Black Caps then slumped to 37 all out in reply as Rapash Baisya and Mosharraf Hossain each took two wickets.

9th Place Play-Off: South Africa 98-2 beat Australia 51 all out by 47 runs

Defending champions Australia capped a miserable tournament with defeat at the hands of South Africa. They were bowled out for just 51 in response to South Africa’s 98 as Matthew Hulett ended with figures of three for five from his solitary over. Earlier, Hulett and Dillon du Preez had both made unbeaten 40s as the Australians toiled in the heat.

First Quarter-Final: Sri Lanka 121-2 beat Woodworm All Stars 118-1 by 4 wickets

The first quarter-final was a high-scoring affair as Sri Lanka overhauled the All Stars’ total of 118 off the final ball of the match. Sanath Jayasuriya, Lou Vincent and Ryan ten Doeschate had all reached 30 for the All Stars as Sachith Shanaka went for 36 from his over. Opener Kusal Perera made 31 in the Sri Lankan run chase and Chathura Peiris and Dilshan Munaweera added 30s of their own, but it was left to captain Chamara Kapugedera to hit the last ball for six to see them home.

Second Quarter-Final: England 101-4 beat India 99-1 by 2 wickets

England’s cricketers made it two wins in less than 24 hours against India’s cricketers with a two-wicket win in the second quarter-final. Indian openers Mayank Agarwal and Dinesh Karthik both passed 30, but Rikki Clarke bowled a tidy penultimate over to pull things back for the English. Captain Rory Hamilton-Brown hit a nine-ball 34 in reply and Tom Smith hit three sixes in four balls as England won with two balls to spare.

Third Quarter-Final: Hong Kong 101-3 beat Scotland 100-0 by 3 wickets

Hong Kong continued their good form with a comfortable win over Scotland. Saltires openers Calum MacLeod and Preston Mommsen continued their excellent form in passing 30 as their side reached three figures from the final ball of their innings. It wasn’t enough as Hong Kong’s Munir Dar opened the innings with 24 from seven balls and Nizakat Khan hit five sixes on his way to a seven-ball 30.

Fourth Quarter-Final: Pakistan 87-4 beat Ireland 86-2 by 2 wickets

Eventual champions Pakistan booked their place in the semi-finals with a hard-fought win over a tenacious Ireland in the last quarter-final. Paul Stirling top-scored for the Irish in their total of 86 as Abdul Razzaq and Sohail Tanvir both conceded just 11 runs from their solitary overs. Umar Akmal bludgeoned an unbeaten 40 from only 10 balls in the Pakistani run chase as they got home with two balls to spare.

Before the start of the semi-finals, a Hong Kong Development side beat their Chinese counterparts by 30 runs in a six-a-side match.

First Semi-Final: England 101-2 beat Sri Lanka 94-3 by 7 runs

England held their nerve against a late onslaught from Chathura Peiris to win by seven runs and book their place in the final. Darren Stevens hit 32 from 10 balls before retiring and Rikki Clarke added late impetus with 34 from eight as England reached 101 from their five overs. Stevens then bowled an outstanding opening over and reduced Sri Lanka to six for two before Thisara Perera and Peiris got Sri Lanka close.

Second Semi-Final: Pakistan 116-3 beat Hong Kong 84-3 by 32 runs

Pakistan hammered Hong Kong in the second semi-final to set up a clash with England as they prevailed by 32 runs over the hosts. Umar Akmal continued his imperious form with a six-ball 34 and was helped by contributions of 25 from nine balls, 24 from seven and 22 from five from the trio of Sharjeel Khan, Abdul Razzaq and Hammad Azam as Pakistan reached 116. Razzaq then took two wickets in the opening over of the hosts’ run chase and they never really recovered in spite of a late valiant effort from Haseeb Amjad who ended with 38 from 10 balls.

Final: Pakistan 154-5 beat England 119-6 by 25 runs

So to the final, which consisted of five eight-ball over per side, and a comprehensive win for Pakistan. They batted first and amassed 154 as captain Abdul Razzaq and left-arm seamer Sohail Tanvir both returned to record half-centuries and hit Rikki Clarke for 40 in his solitary over. None of England’s top-order got going as Umar Akmal took three wickets in the second over of the innings to peg them back after a relatively successful start. Tom Smith (29 from nine balls) and Peter Trego (32 from 10) gave them hope, but they were bowled out from the final ball for 119.

Pakistan skipper Abdul Razzaq was named Player of the Final, while their leading batsman Umar Akmal picked up the Ben Hollioake Trophy for Player of the Tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment